h1

SONY PRS-505/LC Digital Book Reader

March 27, 2009

big_prs505lc_open

The best investment one can make to learn new things is in books. And doesn’t matter if you’re this tech-savvy geek, or a casual reader, the Sony PRS-505 book reader is one of the best investments you can make. Thanks to Vrushali, I got mine a month ago, and I’m loving it! The reader is amazingly light, has an excellent battery & display, and a great software to transfer almost anything available on the web to the book (in calibre).

Now, first things first; the best features of the reader are :

Battery life – Since the display is not LCD, Its long battery life lasts up to 7,500 continuous page turns. I charge mine in two weeks (and I read my books on it everyday)

Ultra portable – As I said, it is like carrying a Reader’s Digest with you.

Impressive, paper-like display – Doesn’t strain your eyes, paper like display which uses least power

Content Storage Capability – Add any SD card and store as many books as you want

Not so impressive features:

Multiple eBook titles available – Sony doesn’t has the most impressive collection, but I’m hoping it will grow soon

More Than eBooks – I don’t use it for listening to music or watching pictures, and I don’t know why anyone would.

Now a couple of lines about calibre – By Kovid Goyal – It is a one stop solution to all your e-book needs. It is free, open source and cross-platform in design and works well on Linux, OS X and Windows. calibre is meant to be a complete e-library solution and thus includes library management, format conversion, news feeds to ebook conversion, as well as e-book reader sync features and an integrated e-book viewer.

All you reading enthusiasts, get one now!

3 comments

  1. […] SONY PRS-505/LC Digital Book Reader Ultra portable – As I said, it is like carrying a Reader’s Digest with you. Impressive, paper-like display – Doesn’t strain your eyes, paper like display which uses least power. Content Storage Capability – Add any SD card and store as many … OS X and Windows. (…) calibre is meant to be a complete e-library solution and thus includes library management, format conversion, news feeds to ebook conversion, as well as e-book reader sync features. […]


  2. I am glad that you like it… my choice, good choice 🙂


  3. @Vru – I know honey, your choice is the best!



Leave a comment